‘Making a Difference’

A Grateful Heart, Day 28

Suma Narayan
Promptly Written
2 min readNov 29, 2021

--

Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

By some strange stroke of good fortune, both my kids decided that they would find their own partners in life: and they did.

And I go down on my bended knees and thank God for it, every day. I couldn’t have made a better choice. There is also the added luxury of knowing that both my sons, inveterate arguers, are arguing, in good, chaste, grammatically accurate English with someone other than me.

Vrisha, my younger daughter-in-law has just made us very, very proud, by becoming the Finalist of the ‘Making a Difference’ recognition awards, ‘which highlight individuals who have gone above and beyond to display professionalism in their workplace, and for their customers.’

The award has been initiated by ANZIF, the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance, and my daughter-in-law has received it for rendering yeoman’s service, in her capacity as Senior Claims Consultant, CHU, in Melbourne.

Her father-in-law and I are tremendously proud of her, and the fact that she has competed with, and among, not only the best in her field of expertise but also the best in her field, in the country that she has begun to call her home, only nine years ago. This, in spite of looking after a kid, a husband, two temperamental cats, a thriving vegetable, fruit, and flower garden, as well as running a well-established household.

We hope that this will be the first of many more such recognitions for this hard-working, dedicated professional.

©️ 2021 Suma Narayan. All Rights Reserved.

Counting down the days. Today is Day 28, of the response to the Monthly Prompt of Ravyne Hawke’s publication, ‘Promptly Written.’

--

--

Suma Narayan
Promptly Written

Loves people, cats and tea: believes humanity is good by default, and that all prayer works. Also writes books. Support me at: https://ko-fi.com/sumanarayan1160