Melancholy Mind

When you can finally think of them without pain, you’ll know that you were loved.

Sneh Gaurav
Promptly Written
2 min readMar 14, 2023

--

Photo by Jakob Rosen on Unsplash

And one day,

When your name doesn’t leave a bitter taste on my lips when I think of you.

When I’ll know that I was loved.

When my eyes don’t water at the sight of you

When my heart doesn’t flutter at the sound of your voice

When my skin doesn’t burn and yearns to touch yours

When my fingers no longer remember how your curls feel, entwined in them.

When your favourite t-shirt has lost its scent.

When I can say your name without my voice breaking.

When I can think of you without any heartache

when I can remember you without any pain

When I can look at a picture of us without shedding a single tear.

When the memories no longer bring a longing in my heart.

When the sound of your laughter no longer echoes in my mind, that’s when I’ll know that I was loved.

When I can talk about you without my eyes filling with tears.

When I can mention your name without my heart skipping a beat.

When I can hear stories about you without feeling a pang in my chest.

when I can look at pictures of us without my stomach flipping;

When I can think of our moments without my throat closing.

When I can remember all that we shared without anguish clouding my heart, that’s when I’ll know that I was loved.

And I sadly lost track of it somewhere in the back of my cupboard.

I’ll meet you as an old friend,

And at that moment, I’ll see the world through your eyes.

Just for that one brief moment,

let go of her hand and hold mine,

Only to greet an old friend.

--

--

Sneh Gaurav
Promptly Written

In this world full of papers, I promise to write you letters.