POETRY: MISCELLANEA

moribund

Mescaline Brisset
Promptly Written
1 min readMay 9, 2022

--

a poem for the stranger who took me out of the danger of my own disbelief

Photo by Andreea Pop on Unsplash

you fixed my broken nerves
with just one humane gesture
whilst others didn’t mind
putting me down to the ground
when I was already lying on the floor
wishing for better times
to come now
and not in the unknown future;
your gentle patches of kindness
from the place
I know too much
running away from the past;
I was yearning to come back
and yet something is obstinately telling me that
it will not be possible in this life
of lost hopes, contradictions, and despair
so better if I stay here
and I will listen to weird conversations
blended with morning bird songs
announcing the end of someone else’s world
on the ropes

Mescaline Brisset

--

--