Motor

Episode 11 of the June Murders

Peter Ling
Promptly Written

--

Photo by tamara garcevic on Unsplash

As soon as DC Collins and Sally Adams returned, Bale showed Sally the dragonfly brooch. She looked shocked. Bale wondered why.

“Where did you find it?” she asked, aghast. The WPC answered, “It was in this black handbag tucked into an inside compartment.” She held up the bag.

“I’ve never seen it before,” Sally said. “June never showed it to me or mentioned it.”

“There was also this,” said Bale.

Sally read the card, and her look of shock deepened.

“What can you tell me about Tad Zeus?” Bale asked.

Sally pursed her lips briefly. “Well, as the card says, he runs Dragonfly, and they produced They’ve Landed, the movie for which June is best known, but that was years ago. I worked for his company and that’s how June and I met, but she never liked him. The last I heard he was trying to raise money for a sequel, but June wasn’t keen. She said she was looking forward to saying no.”

“Why did she dislike him? After all, his movie made her a star,” Bale pressed.

Sally looked embarrassed. “That was partly down to me. Since I worked there, I knew the gossip. Zeus, or the shit-god as we called him, had a reputation. He thought he was cool, but everything about him was crass; from the deeply…

--

--

Peter Ling
Promptly Written

Historian and biographer but thankfully with a sense of humour. Expert on MLK, JFK, the Civil Rights Movement, and presidential scandals.