POETRY

Movement in Stillness

A haiku

Upen Singh
Promptly Written
Published in
Oct 20, 2021

--

Photo by Garrett Sears on Unsplash

Expanding ripples
give life to a quiet pond,
koi underwater.

Today, I was standing on a dock that stretched to the middle of a pond. As I was enjoying the stillness around me, a set of concentric ripples that was expanding quickly caught my attention.

Under the source of the ripples, I spotted a red koi, fulfilling my curiosity of what might have caused them.

This entire happening: the stillness of the pond harmoniously disturbed by the movement of a fish, made me wonder about our own lives. The contrasting yet fulfilling relationship between stillness and movement.

How nice it would be to have a balance between the two.

--

--

Upen Singh
Promptly Written

A Practical Visionary | Education Counselor | Builder | People & Progress | Traveler | Author | Nature & Animals