POETRY | PROMPTLY WRITTEN

My Beloved

Lingering hope

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written
Published in
1 min readNov 2, 2021

--

You are the last vestige
of my melancholy mind
and I shutter
from the thought
of losing you forever
O Darkness, my beloved
I would rather dwell
in your arms than live
one moment in the light
Yet, we both know
should I return to you
I’d leave the living
never to return again
And there is so much
too much left for me to do
So I’ve let the light in
and I see you there
Your shadowed-form hugs
the last corner
of my circular world
and hope lingers, lingers
that we will be one again

©2021 Lori Carlson. All Rights Reserved.

Dedicated to Bradley J Nordell who understands and knows. Check out his excellent poem:

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh