Narcissus and Larkspur

A prompt-ed poem

Suma Narayan
Promptly Written
1 min readDec 30, 2021

--

Photo by David Young on Unsplash

(All parts of all Larkspur plants are poisonous)

He is a gentleman, they said

Good mannered and polite

We know his family of old, they said,

Of good stock, they are, and true.

He smiled a lot, he had good teeth:

He always held the door

Such a catch, I told myself,

Sure to be envied!

By the lattice did my larkspur grow

In glorious incandescence

Near the window that faced the sea,

In vermilion profusion!

We were to wed on the Monday morn,

Everything, arranged:

The blushing bride and charming groom

Walked the sacred aisle.

The man said he loved me

but he loved himself the more

I think he loved the Narcissus

Looking to enslave!

Too late, too late, I remembered

My incandescent larkspur

Though toast of town, gardener’s delight

Could send you to your grave!

©️ 2021 Suma Narayan. All Rights Reserved.

This was written in response to the Daily Special, (December 30), of Ravyne Hawke’s Promptly Written.

--

--

Suma Narayan
Promptly Written

Loves people, cats and tea: believes humanity is good by default, and that all prayer works. Also writes books. Support me at: https://ko-fi.com/sumanarayan1160