Natural Thought Prompt #10

Rose Maligne
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readMay 31, 2022

--

Favorite Flowers

Photo by Nikita Tikhomirov on Unsplash

Prompt: what is your favorite flower?

Everyone has a favorite flower. Everyone has that one flower that they think looks, smells, or appeals to them the most for whatever reason.

Favorite flowers include roses, tulips, lilies, carnations, sunflowers, hyacinths, and more. They’re all beautiful.

Something unique about flowers is that they have a language. Each flower, each color, it all represents a message. Red roses symbolize passionate love; yellow roses symbolize friendship. Lavender and white poppies represent peace. Daisies mean innocence or loyal love.

I love roses. It’s my name, they’re beautiful, they smell great, and they come in many of my favorite colors. I think it would be a shame if my favorite flower weren’t my namesake. However, I also love tulips. I remember my mom growing them when I was in elementary school and how a few of them came back the year after. They’re cute!

My prompts are thus: what is your favorite flower? What does it mean to you, and what is its message in flower language? Do you like what it symbolizes?

The guidelines

  1. Write any kind of piece based on the prompt above!
  2. Make sure your first tag is either “Fiction,” “Poetry,” “Essay,” or “Article,” depending on what it is!
  3. Tag me at the end of your piece (@rosierosebtr3), so I can read your response and comment on it!
  4. If you publish your piece outside of Promptly Written, be sure to tag @ravynehawke as well so she can view your post and mention it in our newsletters.

Happy writing!

--

--

Rose Maligne
Promptly Written

Writing is a long-lost lover of mine, here is what my muse and I have produced. Enjoy.