POETRY | TANKA

Night Chorus

A new creature lends its voice

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readJun 11, 2022

--

Photo by Austin Santaniello on Unsplash

the night chorus stirs
crickets chirp their mating song
as owls’ hoots delight
then a deep guttural croak
a bullfrog on windowsill

©2022 Lori Carlson. All rights reserved.

I am accustomed to certain night sounds, like the mating call of crickets and the hooting of owls. These have been a constant since early Spring. I’ve even created a sort of meditation to the cricket’s song, by timing my breathing to it. It can be quite relaxing and rids me of feeling annoyed by the sound. Oh the owls! The owls! I could listen to them eternally. Tonight’s chorus is different. Imagine my surprise when I hear a new sound, a deep guttural one. And there, perched on my windowsill is a small bullfrog croaking away. It delights me in a giddy-kind of way. I guess all of this rain lately has sent even the frogs to seek higher shelter.

You can read more of my poetry here:

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Promptly Written

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh