No

I mean it

DMTakeshi
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Isaiah Rustad on Unsplash

I usually say yes
But I need no for my well-being
I won’t ever second guess
It is so very freeing

I’ll never again feel the obligation
Your pressure to say yes will not detour
Practicing without complication
And now I’m sure

You won’t ever again force me to say it
Because the answer is no
You didn’t care one bit
About the times when it made me feel low

Today is the day
I start standing up for me
So if you want to stay
Let me say it freely

No is another choice
No has helped me find my voice

I was inspired to write this poem because of the lovely Diana C.’s article titled My Favorite Ways To Say No Without Saying No. This article is definitely worth the read. You can find her work below.

--

--

DMTakeshi
Promptly Written

DMTakeshi has zero credentials and these poems have a high probability that they are the ramblings of a person with a serious mental illness. Enjoy!