Nostalgia

A poem about how different senses can trigger nostalgia.

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written
Apr 4, 2023

--

Source: Marlon Reyes

Wind blows,
Trees sway, soil lifts;
Smell of rain takes me back.
Fields growing, well, pumping water.
The farm.

Thunder.
Hear sirens sound.
Black skies, no green to see.
Head over to the high school halls!
All clear.

Fresh grass,
Warm sun shining.
Country heart, missin’ home.
Smell of honeysuckle takes me.
Miss it.

Warm night,
Open windows.
Crickets sound in the brush,
Miss the banks of that great river!
Hear it?

Writers Write inspired this poem with a prompt about smells! Ravyne Hawke and the Promptly Written editorial team assisted with the editing.

It is NAPOWRIMO. Please follow my page and/or subscribe to me to stay up-to-date with my daily poetry uploads!

--

--

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written

Entrepreneur • Poet • Fiction Writer • Crafter • Amateur Photographer • Artist • Gardener • Veteran • Cook • Neurodivergent