POEM

Out with the Old. In with the New

Monthly Theme for January Prompt

Sujona Chatterjee
Promptly Written

--

It is often said,
The pain won’t matter a year from now.
I never took it to heart,
Until I experienced it and let a year pass.

And so, I did,
Let a whole year pass.
2021 was a year I healed,
And dived into experiences,
I never thought I could have.

In time the intensity,
Of wounds started to fade.
I discovered a new me,
And learnt,
That life will test you in unexpected ways.

So, in 2022,
I pledge to embrace the new.
I choose to let the past be a reminder,
That I deserve better.

And the moment I steer to my conventional ways,
My inner voice will guide me,
In the direction I am meant to take.
But that direction can unfold in the days to come,
For now, let’s live this day of the new year to the fullest.

Thank you Ravyne Hawke, for another thought-provoking prompt.

Wishing you, the readers and the entire team of Promptly Written a very happy new year! Lets take the first step to embrace new beginnings this new year. Cheers!

--

--

Sujona Chatterjee
Promptly Written

Living life the only way I know how — one day at a time.