Party of One…

When glee turns to gloom

Juliet Romeo
Promptly Written
1 min readJan 25, 2023

--

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

A giddy Affair
An exciting Ball
I’m all dressed up
I will give it my all

I bought a new dress
A new pair of shoes

I styled my hair up
Put makeup on too

I waited and waited…
Then waited some more
No one.., and I mean no one
Knocked at my door

I sat on my bed
I looked in the mirror
My whole body crumbled
My eyes filled with tears

I took off my dress
I let my hair free
I took off my shoes
I then screamed and screamed!

“Why me” I shouted!
It sounded so fun
To be part of that party
Not this party… a party of one

I then lay on my bed
I closed my eyes tight
When tomorrow soon arrives
Maybe… I’ll get a new invite

--

--

Juliet Romeo
Promptly Written

My passion for writing is blossoming and reaching out in many directions. Poetry, short stories, self reflection. Dark and humorous. Wicked and sharp.