Pops:

Peter Ling
Promptly Written
Published in
4 min readJun 20, 2022

--

Episode 19 of the June Murders

Photo by Chauhan Moniz on Unsplash

Detective Johnson had phoned Dragonfly Productions to check that Tad Zeus was in town and had arranged to see him the next day. He noticed the Harley parked conspicuously outside. The receptionist showed him to a large office. The walls showed posters and stills from several movies, while dragonfly mobiles hung from the ceiling. Johnson was over six feet so he moved warily to his chair as he and Zeus exchanged introductions and shook hands.

“I gather you want to talk to me about June Sommers’ murder,” Zeus began. “It’s so horrifying and sad.” He opened his hands and shook his head. “But I don’t see how I can help.”

Johnson placed the large magnified picture of the dragonfly brooch on the desk in front of Zeus. “Do you recognize this?” he asked quietly.

“Possibly,” Tad conceded. “As you can see, I use the dragonfly image to promote my company. They are beautiful and amazing creatures and that sums up the kind of movies I want to make.”

“It’s quite an expensive piece, Mr. Zeus. And quite distinctive, are you sure you don’t recognize it?” Johnson pressed.

“Well, sure, it looks familiar, but it’s not part of my collection,” Zeus responded, then added. “But sometimes I give things away as thank yous and mementos once we complete a production.”

--

--

Peter Ling
Promptly Written

Historian and biographer but thankfully with a sense of humour. Expert on MLK, JFK, the Civil Rights Movement, and presidential scandals.