WRITING PROMPTS | PROMPTLY WRITTEN

Prompt Yourself: Weekly Prompts June 3–9 (Jealousy)

Writing prompts to tempt your muses

Dr. Casey Lawrence
Promptly Written
Published in
9 min readJun 3, 2024

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Welcome to the twenty-first list of weekly writing prompts in 2024!

Last month’s overarching theme was technology, and in response, my two weeks of writing prompts used photographs to get the creative juices flowing. (Make sure to check those out if you missed them, as well as my article about how to use art as a writing prompt!) This month’s theme is going to be jealousy, which got me to thinking:

How can we productively turn jealousy into a muse?

This first week in June, I’m going to be sourcing some of my favourite lines from fiction, poetry, and film — lines I wish I had written, and from which I think we can be inspired. But before we get started, here are a couple of quick reminders:

How This Works

  1. Use these prompts to write poetry, fiction, an essay, creative non-fiction, or an article. They are totally open to interpretation! Include a link to the prompt at the bottom of your post.
  2. If you use one of these prompts, you can submit the result here at PW, to any publication that accepts prompts from other publications…

--

--

Dr. Casey Lawrence
Promptly Written

Canadian author of three LGBT YA novels. PhD from Trinity College Dublin. Check out my lists for stories by genre/type.