Ramesses And Nefertari

Our Neighbors

Joe Merkle
Promptly Written

--

My girlfriend Catherine and I are struggling actors. I met her when I moved from Chicago to the Big Apple to make my mark on Broadway. I’m still waiting.

We met at my first audition for an off, off-Broadway production of Frankie and Johnny. It was the first time either of us went to bed with a potential co-star in the very first audition. Neither of us got the part. We still share a bed.

With our combined incomes, we managed to land a studio apartment in Hamilton Heights. We quickly found jobs waiting tables and public transportation is great for getting around town.

Many of the other residents are struggling actors too. Why do we all keep chasing the dream? We get some good laughs at neighbors returning from rehearsals looking like total losers.

Our next-door neighbors are a breed unto themselves. When we see them, they are always unusually dressed. Ancient Egyptian linens, Roman togas, Viking garb, and other periodical clothing worn throughout the centuries.

If you think that’s weird their names are Ramesses and Nefertari. And their last name on the mailbox in our building is Thegreat. The same as mine. What can I say?

It is rare any sounds come from next door. The apartment walls are far from soundproof and I’m sure they can…

--

--

Joe Merkle
Promptly Written

I write about love, life, loss, kindness, and gratitude. Toss in some fiction and humor and you have the meanderings of a multifarious writer.