PROMPTLY WRITTEN |GRATITUDE JOURNAL

Rebellious Soul

Gratitude Whole

Kira Dawn
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readNov 24, 2021

--

Photo by Ryan Moreno on Unsplash

It was easier when people molded me
Into whatever shape of plastic
I’m the woman you were hoping I would never be

A rebellious soul
Added to an inflated ego
I felt whole
At least I thought so

Funny how I took so much granted
Ruined everything I was ever handed
Got reprimanded

Cycle starts over again
Become the whore of South Beach men

Up all night doing blow
An ungrateful bitch
A new kind of low

Heroin blues
That’s a lose lose

Got sober
Learned to choose

Hold the f*ck up
This is about gratitude

I wouldn’t be alive today
If I didn’t look back at myself that way

Self deprecating
Motor skills delaying
Aggravating
I’ve kept you waiting
Gravitating
Towards gratitude in the making
Others find it complicating

First I had to get clean
Dope sick was a rotten
Kind of mean

The pink cloud lifts
Sky was made of Amethysts
Yes that is a Hole reference Marcus

I fought this battle
Rowing with no paddle

Swimming against the current
Almost lost myself along the way again
A simple deterrent

--

--

Kira Dawn
Promptly Written

Lyrical Prose molds my soul. Journey that led me to the Gorgeous Mess of Chaos that you see. One with God. I am merely a vessel. I am authentically me. Broken.