Redefining Boundaries

Nothing set in stone for a mental construct

Kimberly Hampton Nilsson
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Blake Guidry on Unsplash

Barbed wire; a stone wall; -rebel -graffiti -hate
A sharp tongue; an evil eye
Keep out; go away; I will not be hurt; I’m changing my fate
Broken; seeking protection; one unstop-able cry
Fearful of the past, painted in a lie.

Boundaries make barriers; yes, others will stand to stare
With good there’s evil; black and white
Mine and yours; sometimes not meant to share
Separation painful; I’m hiding out-of-sight
Togetherness, tragically destructive.

A repeated broken promise; forming a river of my tears
Does language really open doors, for smiles to caress
Once treading where not welcome; danger signals fears
Trampled without respect; open for the taking; alas, shouting out; with no sins to confess
Values shall define me; never looking back.

Imaginary chains broken; thoughts now free and clear
Goodness abounds in simple elegance
Gratitude with a spoken truth; a new governance for my ears
Focusing on the task at hand; be it my only dance
How I do anything, is…

--

--