Road Love

#fiction

SLSnow88
Promptly Written

--

Photo by George Bakos on Unsplash

We're taught to lightly brake when coming to an abrupt stop. But, unfortunately, this doesn't always happen. You can watch everything around you and be on the lookout for other drivers, and try and be ready, and still, you have to slam on your brakes.

Things happen so fast that you don't get a chance to follow the rules taught to you in driver's education. Instead, you have to make quick decisions and let what happens to unfold. My tea rippled down my dress and formed a pool on my car floor.

I took a deep breath. I couldn't be mad as it was a random dress I chose to wear to attend my best friend's holiday party. I rolled down my window and stuck my head out, and saw that cars were stopped for blocks. Traffic never happens in this part of town which is why I always take this route.

It's the long way to everything, but I'm never in a rush to get anywhere, and I get to see how beautiful our state is when I drive this route. Every day I get to experience the colossal mountains, which are snow-covered in the winter. Sometimes the mountains sit in front of a clear blue sky.

I saw that people were getting out of their cars and sitting on the hood or talking with others. So I took my seatbelt off and got out.

"Excuse me, do you know what's going on up there?" I asked, walking up to the guy in…

--

--

SLSnow88
Promptly Written

I love creating worlds. Entertaining people is engrained in me.