Running Late: a Bad Hair Day Horror Story

A 100-word response to the October 26th fiction prompt

srstowers
Promptly Written

--

Image by Hairdresser OOO from Pixabay

I’ve always said my hair has a mind of its own.

“It’s a shame you can’t call in ugly like you call in sick,” a curl said, examining my face.

I froze. Either I was hallucinating or my hair was sentient. And rude.

“Leave the girl alone; she’s tired.” Another curl.

I screamed.

“What’s wrong?”

“Is there a fire?”

“Are we out of mousse?”

“We’re all going to die!”

My hair panicked. I panicked. I grabbed scissors.

The battle was brutal, the results horrific.

Running late, I donned a hat.

“I can’t believe you killed them,” my left eyebrow said.

If you enjoyed my weird little story, why not leave a tip?

--

--

srstowers
Promptly Written

high school English teacher, cat nerd, owner of Grading with Crayon, and author of Biddleborn.