Inspiration | Life | Essay

Saint, I Am Not! Not Even Close!

Gracious, I Definitely Am!

Eko B
Promptly Written
Published in
4 min readJun 25, 2022

--

street gallery
Photo by Benjamin Massello on Unsplash

June 24, 2022… a beautiful Friday, I decided to treat myself to a nice pedicure. I never had one color for all of my toes, and today, ten colors for ten toes. Alicia, my only pedicurist for the past nine years, laughed and said, “Finally, after all the different ways you color your toes, today, each has a different one.” I chatted with her while she did her incredible magic to my toes. Updated her with my Dad's passing, how my mother, siblings, and I have been coming together, and the strong feeling that my Dad is around me at all times. She updated me about her sons, her house, and stories from a couple of her clients I knew. Pedicure, to me, is more than just about taking care of my toes. It is about meeting one of the most wonderful human beings I’ve met, a gracious woman who undoubtedly ain’t a saint! She has a temper. She could defend herself and be feisty when her employer decided to treat her like garbage. It happened four times in front of me, and I loved her being able to do that.

Then, I walked to the post office to mail a tax payment, and the postwoman at the counter, Tameka, gave me a big smile when I said, “I need to see your name tag so I can call you by your name!” We exchanged names. When she asked me if I needed anything else, I…

--

--

Eko B
Promptly Written

I'm in love with imperfections and possibilities. The commitment to unlock and shine by keep on putting together the broken pieces to create a masterpiece.