Skating on Thin Ice

T. Mark Mangum
Promptly Written
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2021

--

Photo by Bryan Rodriguez on Unsplash

It was a bright sunny day in Edinburgh, Scotland. This was very good because it isn’t very sunny on average in Scotland. My friends and I decided upon the Christmas trip because, well hell, the end-of-the-world pandemic had kept us cooped up for too long. We were all aching for a getaway, so we did.

“Hey this afternoon we should go ice skating at St. Andrew’s Square and stay till evening when they light the lights,” Jinger said.

“I can’t ice skate; I will sit this one out,” I said.

“Jethro Tull,” Joe said.

“What,” Gail said, looking at him with a scowl.

“I really don’t mind if you sit this one out. It is Jethro Tull; he said I will sit this one out,” Joe explained.

Joe had an annoying habit of naming songs or artists when you said something that reminded him of said song or artist. Jinger laughed.

“Ok, We are going to the ice ice baby, so prepare yourself,” She looked at Joe expectantly.

“Vanilla Ice, Ha.”

“I prefer Crazy Frog’s version,” I said.

We all started laughing, and I knew that I would be watching them ice skate today.

At St. Andrew’s Square, we were getting ready to skate. The others convinced me to at least try, so I was lacing up the skates.

--

--

T. Mark Mangum
Promptly Written

For the serious reader. Short, compelling fiction for the serious reader. I use Imagination, wonder, and surprise to create my tales. Please Enjoy reading them.