Thank you for the Words

A Grateful Heart, Day 14

Suma Narayan
Promptly Written
2 min readNov 15, 2021

--

Photo by Yogendra Singh on Unsplash

The chapter in the Second Year English textbook was a story about a very poor boy, Reuben Earle, who works night and day, literally, to buy a coveted gift for his mother, for Mother’s Day. The year is 1946. The story, ‘A Boy With a Mission.’

I was in this class of supposedly cynical, restless Science students who attend lectures only for the sake of attendance.

By the time I had finished teaching, there was not a sound in class. There was an almost-hypnotised look on every face: several looked misty-eyed.

I looked around the class.

You could hear a pin drop.

Literally.

I felt this deep sense of gratitude for the serendipity that led me into the vocation of teaching: and for the words that helped me weave this magic spell almost every time I go to a class.

When I left College at 6.50 pm, it was pouring with rain, and I was drenched even before I could cross the road for my daily commute home. I don’t think it even registered.

For high above, among those dark, threatening clouds, my heart was soaring, with elation and gratitude.

©️ 2021 Suma Narayan. All Rights Reserved.

This is a response to the thought-provoking prompt for the month of November, for Ravyne Hawke’s publication, ‘Promptly Written.’ Today is Day 14. Thank you for cheering me on. Thank you for the appreciation, and the encouragement. I am grateful. Truly.

--

--

Suma Narayan
Promptly Written

Loves people, cats and tea: believes humanity is good by default, and that all prayer works. Also writes books. Support me at: https://ko-fi.com/sumanarayan1160