The Art Of Crafting Communities

In Response To The Coffee Challenge; Why I Am Pro Shoutout Movement

Sam Finlayson
Promptly Written

--

When I joined Medium, I was unsure what it could mean. For me, it was a place to house all the intrusive thoughts in my head. Disbelieving for a minute that anyone would read them.

I discovered publications, followed them for a while. My inner voice screamed that I was not good enough. One day I had a boost of courage and dipped in my toe. It was a revelation to me, people I had never met reading and commenting on my work. Lovely encouraging comments to boot, Deb Fiore, Lena Ann, Carrie. A. Kelly, Pam Winter, Donnette Anglin, Ann van der Giessen EP McKnight, MEd to name a few.

Joining Coffee Times was the first time I encountered the shout-out. I understood what it was but was unsure of the purpose. It was a rule, so I did. The first time someone shout-out my article it felt like a prize. Someone took the time to read and share my words. What the heck.

Something changed. I started to enjoy finding articles to shout out. Finding other writers along the way, I may never have read otherwise. I now do a shout-out no matter where I am publishing.

Why is it a great idea? What’s in it for me?

It costs absolutely nothing.

--

--

Sam Finlayson
Promptly Written

Love 📚 New to writing but loving every minute. Write about my experiences with therapy, trauma and recovery as well as other things that cross my mind 😉