The Bad Habits Bakery & Cafe

A poem

Buddy Gott
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Manan Chhabra on Unsplash

I went down to the Bad Habits Bakery & Cafe
The place feels like home to me
Filled with people who aren’t exactly what they seem
It’s something I have in common with them

We all wear masks at times in our lives
And you know exactly what I mean
Because you probably wear them frequently too

That’s why I love being at the Bad Habits Bakery & Cafe
We all know we’re there doing the same exact thing
Indulging in some tasty bad habits

There’s an unspoken honesty in that
And we don’t need to lie to each other there
We can happily drop our masks and be ourselves

So let yourself take a break
Come there with me now
Take off whatever mask you’re wearing

Taste what they serve there
Let yourself be a little bad and a little happy today
Taste the freedom of being you

Thank you very much for reading my poem. It was inspired by this wonderful writing prompt from writer Penelope Mayfield:

--

--

Buddy Gott
Promptly Written

Lover of music, tv, books, and movies. Host of the GOTTA POP podcast.