The Best Best Friend

Flash Fiction

Kendra Gayle Lee
Promptly Written

--

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

“Come ON, Gabby,” I muttered, grabbing her hand and marching her toward the Richardson’s front door, where something looking a lot like a cross between a mummy and a werewolf lurked right next to the candy.

Gabby hesitated again, and I gave her arm a little yank. Now was not the time to chicken out. Or at least not until something started chasing us (I secretly had my fingers crossed for that, but I knew Gabby would about die if something took off after us, so I didn’t dare mention it).

Things that go bump in the night scare Gabby, sure. But Halloween was made expressly for being scared. Terror. Horror. All that jazz. Besides, it wasn’t like we didn’t know all the ghouls and monsters in this town. We knew everything about this town. Except for on a night like tonight, where nothing was quite as it seemed.

The thrill of adrenaline made me tingle all the way down to my toes. And Gabby knew it.

I heard a small sigh escape from underneath her plastic horse head. She squared her shoulders, the way she had since kindergarten when she faced a bully — imagined or real.

Truth be told, Gabby was the bravest person I knew. Except when it came to Halloween & scary movies. Then it was all Shiver Central. About 5 minutes into Friday the 13th, Gabby buried her head between…

--

--

Kendra Gayle Lee
Promptly Written

Believer in equality. Dedicated to smashing white supremacy & the patriarchy. Mother of 1. Queer. Married to a out, trans-guy. In love with Atlanta, GA.