The Book of Time

A Laser monocle, impossible libraries, and a time-travelling book

Stefan Grieve
Promptly Written
5 min readMar 23, 2022

--

Photo by Jeremy Perkins on Unsplash and Photo by Jaredd Craig on Unsplash edited by Author on Paint 3d

Just when you think your life can’t get any more boring, you get launched into a battle between mysterious powers and find The Book of Time. But first, like everything in life, you just have to get there.

And that’s what I did. I followed the map that was on the leaflet, through fields and hills and streets. Then I was there, at the small and cosy library at the centre of an unassuming street.

“Oh there you are,” said the elderly short woman with the ruby stone-tipped walking stick. She then stopped, looked at me, and said, “You don’t know me, do you?”

“No. I’m Sarah,” I said.

She looked me up and down, no doubt taking in my gawky, spectacled appearance. “Of course, you’re… never mind.”

“And how might I address you?” I asked daringly.

“The Librarian.” She said, then smiled, “Ruby. You can call me Ruby.”

I nodded.

“I trust the walk to here was nice.”

“Yes. Scenic.” I said, thinking of the many horses I passed in fields which reminded me of my schoolgirl riding days.

“So have you worked in a library before?” The librarian asked, getting to the main desk with the computer and stationary.

“Yes, a few times. I thought I should volunteer because, I’m well, in-between jobs at the moment, and — ”

“Well, this will be easy for you.” She walked towards the back of the building to a door. “This is the kitchen, WHERE YOU SHOULD NEVER GO!”

I nodded, taken aback by her volume. Now I was properly awake, at least.

She went in and returned after a few minutes with two mugs of tea. I took mine, pleasantly surprised to find it was just how I like it.

“Thank you.”

She nodded.

“Is this all the books we have?”

Ruby smiled, “We have more books in the back room. But I wouldn’t go there until I tell you to.”

“Ok.”

“I trust you will know what to do. I will be in the kitchen. If you need me, knock. Or make other loud noises.”

“Ok.”

“Oh,” she said, and grabbed hold of my arm, “Beware of The Scholar.”

I frowned, then nodded. She went back to the kitchen.

“Time for an uneventful day,” I sighed.

After several quiet hours of nothing interesting to report but a few people taking out books, I was struck by the sight of an unusual gentleman who entered.

He was old, tall and thin, slick back grey hair, and wearing a black coat and dark trousers.

Ok, so that wasn’t unusual. But what caught my eye was that he was wearing a ruby-crusted monocle on his left eye. I say crusted, because the ruby was around the edge of the lens, like when you get that stuff in your eyes sometimes when you wake up. Gross, I know.

“I am looking…” he said, “for the Book of Mordecai.”

“Right,” I said, searching for it on the computer. “What’s your name?”

He smiled. “The Scholar.”

I felt a chill.

“Is there a problem?”

“No, I — ”

I heard a door slam and Ruby hurried towards me. “Sarah, get out of the way.”

“Time to check out.” The Scholar twisted his ruby monocle, and a red laser blasted at The Librarian. I couldn’t see what happened to her because I flinched and turned away.

He turned to me, smiled, and said, “Now, the book — ”

A beam of red light shot The Scholar through the window.

I looked over and saw Ruby holding her staff. She said, “Quick, take this,” putting a library date stamp in my pocket. “Don’t change the date, that’s vitally important. And remember, stamp the first page.”

Another blast shot at The Librarian, but she met it with a shot from her ruby-tipped staff.

“Go.” She said. “To the back room. Use your library instincts. Find the Book of Time.”

I nodded, and ran, opening the door to the backroom.

It was wrong. It was very wrong. Because how can a library, far bigger than the main library, fit through that door?

I didn’t know how, but it did.

Thousands of books were on towering shelves, and the books look ancient. There were even scrolls.

This way, a voice whispered in my head.

My heart still beating bloody, I clung to the only raft thrown out to me in my ocean of fear, and followed my ‘library instincts’.

So I walked in this maze of books, following my intuition, hoping I would find something that it was leading to me.

“Little girl.”

I froze.

“I know you are in here, little girl.”

In the gap of bookshelves, I saw The Scholar.

“She’s dealt with now. Your librarian.”

“What do you mean?”

“Only you now can lead me to Mordecai’s secrets. That is, if you choose to corporate.” He put his hand through the gap in the shelf. “Do we have a deal?”

My instincts heightened, the answer was easy, “no.”

“Oh. Pity.” I then saw him touch his monocle and I ran, the bookshelf blazing in flame behind me.

I followed the twists of the labyrinths around the circles until I came to a central room.

There was what looked like the outer workings of a clock, spinning and floating in the air between an archway of stacked books. It was ticking. In its centre was a book.

I put my hand towards it. The outer clock then spun fast, like a blaze of fire.

“Give that to me.”

I turned around to see The Scholar. Behind him, were walls of fire, making him look like the king of his self-made hell.

“No,” I said.

“Well then, I’m going to have to — ” he said, moving forward. But he stopped, and looked up, only to see piles of books from a shelf fall on his head, knocking him out.

“Ah, sweet. And convenient,” I said.

The spinning clock seemed to have calmed, so I reached out and grabbed the book. I opened The Book of Time, turned to the first page, and stamped it with the date stamp.

The pages began to flicker, and there was a flash of white light.

I was back in the library, except things weren't burning and The Scholar wasn’t there. I found my way out using my library instincts, to the smaller library.

“Oh,” said Ruby, who was sitting by the counter. “Who are you?”

“I’m Sarah, don’t you know me?”

“No,” but then she smiled and said, “not yet.”

She was looking at the book. She walked over to me and put a hand warmly on mine. “Tell me everything, child.”

After explaining everything, Ruby told me that when I had used the date stamp on the book it had brought me to one week earlier.

Time to prepare.

To make a living space in the room behind the kitchen, to balance books on the top shelf near The Book of Time, and eventually, to post the leaflet through my letterbox bringing me to the library in the first place. Time travels a funny old thing.

So I said I explained everything, but The Librarian had not. Not yet anyway. In time maybe, but there was much more to do before that.

I couldn’t wait this time.

--

--

Stefan Grieve
Promptly Written

British writer based in Wakefield, West Yorkshire. Chairperson of writing group ‘’Wakefield Word.’