The Daily Fight

A poem about the down days

Nicholas Breen
Promptly Written
2 min readMay 11, 2023

--

Photo by Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

Caught in the middle between a joke and a riddle. Mom and Dad, school and job, right and wrong, silence or song. The answers are few and far between, true love very rarely seen. For years you could be keen for someone to lean on, friends say they’ll stay then they’re gone. Time cut short like a lawn. Turmoil felt, dusk to dawn, dawn to dusk, am I a voice or a husk? A shell of a self or a man with a plan, who can. This life sometimes I can’t stand, being pulled in directions I don’t wanna go. I just wanna flow but I’m caught, trying to be someone I’m not. I have to grow not rot, there’s a lot I’ve sought and battles I’ve fought. I don’t like her and I don’t enjoy the day, I gotta find somewhere to stay and grow. I feel so low like I’m hitting rock bottom. Summer just turned to Autumn, the world goes around and I watch it go by and wonder why I’m stuck in this cycle. I can’t get outta the loop, I’m just jumping through hoops trying to make a future. I need someone like a tutor or a mentor to show me the right doors and not give me chores and tasks who does what I ask, without wearing a mask. I feel like I’m nearing last, I gotta pick up the pace to win the race and have them remember the face of Nicholas Breen.

Thank you for reading my poem. Feel free to check out my poetry, short stories, and essays on this insightful Medium of self-discovery. May you win a glorious victory throughout the fight of the day.

--

--

Nicholas Breen
Promptly Written

Aspiring author who writes for the dreamers, the learners, the unknown poets and people of this world. To learn more about me: https://tinyurl.com/TheBreenShow