The Desert

Suma Narayan
Promptly Written
Published in
Nov 5, 2021
Photo by Ryan Cheng on Unsplash

Parched lives, unslaked thirst

deserts in the human mind

souls that are soulless.

Some deserts have rain

some have never seen water

some deserts are wet.

And when we don’t know

how to absorb heaven’s bounty,

rains of love, drain away.

©️ 2021 Suma Narayan. All Rights Reserved

This is a response to Warren Brown’s very pertinent and topical prompt, The Desert, featured in the November’s Poetry Prompt Contest.

I wish to thank Ravyne Hawke, for her call to action, as it were, and including my name in the roster of poets she has invited to participate in this challenge. Thank you.

I have never created a Haiku: and this involved a lot of frenzied thinking, planning, nail-biting and banging my head on the wall, metaphorically speaking. If there are errors, do excuse me: this baby is just learning to walk. Thank you.

--

--

Suma Narayan
Promptly Written

Loves people, cats and tea: believes humanity is good by default, and that all prayer works. Also writes books. Support me at: https://ko-fi.com/sumanarayan1160