The Essence of the Dragonfly

An essay inspired by the June 2022 Word-A-Day list from Promptly Written.

Willow Lovelight
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Varun Raghav on Unsplash

Do you know the spiritual meaning of the dragonfly?

Depending on the source, the answer varies. They can represent change, transformation, rebirth — endings as well as new beginnings. They’re said to be messengers of the Fae Folk, too. They carry tales from spirits and magical creatures alike. They represent speed, agility, adaptability, and awakening. All in all, dragonflies are known to be light incarnate. Vast, isn’t it?

I’ve been graced by this miraculous creature multiple times throughout my life. It was only in adulthood that I began to truly appreciate and take notice of them, and as I did? I heeded their words of wisdom.

Dance,” they gently urged. “Dance while you have the chance.

“Keep your heart light. Embrace this change and turbulence with open arms, and you will grow wings to fly. You’re transforming for the better; you’re being reborn. There’s so much to be excited about!”

To bend but not break is a lesson the dragonfly has taught me (as well as to not blame myself

--

--

Willow Lovelight
Promptly Written

A human being trying to spread a little love and shed a little light~♡ · Spirituality · Life Lessons · Love & Relationships · Mental Health · Poetry/Prose ·