The Heaviest Burden

A poem exploring the personification of a sleigh.

Tas (they/them)
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readDec 21, 2021

--

A mother and child in the snow with the child on a sled
Photo by Viktor Talashuk on Unsplash

Shuffle, shuffle, shuffle

It is so cold.
The ice scrapes the bottom of my feet.

Groan

This happens every year,
Down the hill with no regard.
Clumps or flaky white substance under me;
It sticks.

Shiver

You may think my heart is cold,
Wooden and unfeeling;
But that is not the case.
As it melts I cry.

No one will ever know what it’s like,
The burden of carrying the weight.
I carry it on my back for hours;
For days.

Gasp

It's so cold today.

It would be nice to feel warm;
Inside this house, there is only warmth in summer.

Oh, how I love summer!

Sitting in peace on the same spot not moved,
There are little mice that climb on my back.

They are not a burden.
They are light as mice.

--

--

Tas (they/them)
Promptly Written

Tas is an autistic horror writer with a deep love for science fiction and body horror.