The Ice Cream Shop

A poem

Ember Forrest
Promptly Written
1 min readMay 30, 2022

--

Photo by bharath g s on Unsplash

I saw him at the ice cream shop
On a muggy summer afternoon
He was bored
working twelve to seven
He asked me why I smoked cigarettes
It bothered him
I wanted an ice cream
But he told me it was unhealthy
I joked
But really I got mad
He wondered a little too much
And asked me many questions
He watched me closely from behind the counter
And looked at me all too familiar
He wanted to know the things I thought
In my head
He wanted to open the lock
But I wouldn’t let in
The store always seemed empty
Around late afternoon
The sun crept through the windows
People walking down the strip
Laughter was heard
An old lady peeked through the glass door…
we played a game
and I lost every time
He told me I’d never win
But I did and said goodbye.

--

--

Ember Forrest
Promptly Written

Poet, story writer, aspiring screenwriter. Meet my characters and take a journey into their worlds.