Image by the Author

The Lost Dream

Nisreen Khaldi
Promptly Written
Published in
1 min readDec 31, 2021

--

We were small but had big dreams
We walked together in every green field
We carved our names on every blooming tree
We weaved our hopes with every dream.

I swayed with you with every breeze
I looked into your eyes to seize
A second, a minute, a lifetime,
Where I am with you and you with me!

One day you left me with all the pain
You did not even try to explain
I ran behind you and called your name
I pleaded for you to stay and remain
But I only heard my echo again.

I dreamt of the day that we'll reunite
For that day I waited and waited,
I had my hopes, I had a fright,
Until all my hopes faded and faded.

I looked for you in the green fields
I visited every blooming tree
I asked about you in every breeze
But had no answer to cool the heat.

My dreams grew smaller
The fields became bare
Our names faded on every tree
Our hopes vanished with every dream.

I became lost with every breeze
Searching for your eyes to seize
A second, a minute, a lifetime,
Where I am with you and you with me!

--

--

Nisreen Khaldi
Promptly Written

I have MA degree in English Literature and Language. I have passion in writing.