The Music That Brings Back Innocent, Carefree Days

Beach Music

Ellen Baker
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Vitalik Yamskiy: https://www.pexels.com/photo/couple-dancing-on-the-seashore-6309233/

Thanks, Ravyne. This is a prompt I can definitely relate to.

You see, I live in North Carolina. My home is less than a two-hour drive from the beach. And I grew up with something called “beach music”. Until I was 20, I thought everyone in America knew what that was. I found out it is also called Carolina Beach Music.

I find it hard to explain to someone. The closest universal description is rhythm and blues. Yet it is sort of a branch of that.

If you ever heard Under the Boardwalk by the Drifters, The Dock of the Bay by Otis Redding, My Girl by the Temptations, or Summertime’s Calling Me by the Embers, you’ve heard beach music.

It’s music that immediately invokes the feeling of freedom, the sense of ocean waves, the wind in your hair, and warm sun on your face.

This is the music of my teenage years. Listening to it, I felt the summer stretching out in front of me, filled with carefree hours.

I enjoy most kinds of music, but beach music will always be my favorite because of the memories and feelings it brings back.

--

--

Ellen Baker
Promptly Written

Writing about the wonderful life of Nana/Mom, retired person who forgets she is not young anymore, and whatever else lghts an inner fire.