The Owl and The Witch

Sometimes it’s a good idea to ignore the voice in your head

Amanda Gravely
Promptly Written
Published in
4 min readJun 5, 2022

--

Photo by Agto Nugroho on Unsplash

A shrieking owl sliced through the silence of the night. My heart lept into my throat as I spun around to see where the noise was coming from. I could see little more than a pair of eyes staring down at me. A shiver raced down my back and settled in my stomach. Whoever thought it was a good idea to wander around in the woods after dark was an idiot.

It was yours, you idiot.

A jolt shot to my heart at the voice inside my head. I took a step back, my eyes desperately scanning the area for the source of the voice, as if I could see in the dark like the animals. I swallowed the lump in my throat. “Who… Who’s out there?”

Don’t worry about who I am. All you need to worry about it is the witch coming to get you.

“Witch?” Under normal circumstances, I didn’t believe in witches and other supernatural things, but being alone in the woods with no light opens a person’s mind to new things.

Yes, a witch. If I were you, I would start moving.

I took two steps forward and paused. “I can’t really see.”

An audible sigh sounded in my head before the voice. Just go straight for now. I’ll guide you.

--

--

Amanda Gravely
Promptly Written

I am a multi genre author writing mostly romance, fantasy, and sci-fi.