The Pink Magnolia

Response for the Microfiction Writing Challenge

Sandra
Promptly Written
Mar 20, 2022

--

click by the author Sandra

“Would you like to play on our magnolia tree one last time?” asked Mama.

Basking in the spring sunshine, I lounged on its branches, reading a book. The next day, it moved away in a chipper to make space for a new sunroom.

I picked a tiny branch and planted it in my dollhouse garden and hung a tiny little swing and a bird feeder on the twig.

“You may swing and soak up under the sun and rain, forever. There is mud, grass, flowers, and butterflies outdoors. You won’t need an extra room.” I whispered in my doll’s ears.

--

--

Sandra
Promptly Written

An atypical Taurean || Storytelling enthusiast || Retrospective Daydreamer || Tried and tested HR Professional || Experimental mother