The Reawakening

A short fiction story inspired by AI art

Kirk Carter
Promptly Written
5 min readJan 20, 2023

--

Random Stranger created by author (Kirk Carter) using Dream by Wombo.

A random stranger appears. What do they want?

The tall man was just standing there, surveying the land before him. To his left, a few steps forward stood a small companion barely taller than the stranger’s knees. The creature, or whatever it was, shouldered a puffy pack larger than its torso. It looked up at the stranger and returned its gaze forward in silence. A look that only the two of them understood.

I shivered as the wind blew more lifeless leaves from the sparsely covered branches surrounding my stealthy perch. I raised my hood quietly to block the wind from my head and neck, thankful for the layered clothing I wore. Clothes not dissimilar from the stranger below.

Why was he here? Where did he come from? Why does he seem familiar? And what is that with him? Why are they not leaving?

He hasn’t noticed me since he entered the grove — or has he? As I opened my mouth to confront him, he interrupted.

“If I told you, you wouldn’t believe me.”

“But I haven’t asked you anything yet,” I exclaimed.

“Yet, I knew the question before you could ask. My answer remains. You wouldn’t believe me.”

Who the hell is this guy?

He turned his head away from his companion and flashed a grin, his right eye settling on my position, high in the tree.

Has he known the whole time that I was following him? How did he find me?!

I didn’t get the chance to ask. The stranger spun in a counter-clockwise direction, gripping his companion’s pack, and flung the creature directly at me. The creature, screeching loudly, braced for the impact. It folded its little legs and arms close to its body as it flew through the air.

Wait, was that a wink?

The sight was so comical, yet infuriating as my eyes slowly processed what I saw before me. I was frozen, unable to move. My eyes were transfixed on the rapidly approaching creature, unable to react. My mouth opened involuntarily in awe as I watched the humanoid projectile come closer and closer.

All my breath was forced from my lungs in an instant. The creature bound backward off my chest in a wide arc with its eyes closed, like an acrobat in a meditative state. Burning pain spread through my shoulder as my torso was thrust backward, leading the useless limbs in my tumble to the ground.

As I began to fall backward, my eyes searched for the stranger. He was bowing his head and muttering to himself, seemingly oblivious to the creature and me. As I lost sight of him, I willed myself to listen.

“Finally. It’s time,” I heard from the stranger.

I lost all sense of body awareness. I did not know how long before I would strike the ground. My only clue was the sight of passing tree branches, each getting smaller as it drew further away. I started counting the branches. How many did I climb again?

One. Two. Three. Four. Five. Six. Seven? Eight?! Nine! Wait … that’s too many. On and on the branches entered and exited my line of sight.

What is happening to me?!

I tried to turn my head but found no success. My head’s position was fixed as were my arms and legs.

“You deserve this — need it in fact,” the stranger said.

I could no longer see the stranger but could only hear him, his voice becoming clearer. The words were directed at me and me alone.

“This is the only way. The is only way,” he kept repeating as I fell, gaining more and more speed.

My vision blurred as the speed of the passing branches increased until they were just streaks in my sight. The wind gusts were deafening. My senses overwhelmed me. Seeking relief, I closed my eyes. I could do nothing more.

“You have to let go. Accept your fate. Accept failure. Accept.”

As my mind slowed, an image of my daughters first appeared. Then my partner, my brothers, my parents, and my friends too. One after another, vibrant flashes of happy moments entered my mental vision and then faded from sight.

Why did I leave them? Why did I come to this place? Why did I choose this quest over my loved ones? I’ve failed them. I’ve failed myself. It’s over now. I must accept my mistakes. I must let go. Accept my fate. Accept failure. Accept.

As the world fell away, I was at peace.

The wind stopped. It doesn’t matter. I could feel the motion of my body again. It doesn’t matter. Maybe I can move? It doesn’t matter.

Let go. Accept my fate. Accept failure. Accept.

I gasped one final time, as the free fall came to an abrupt stop. Bones shattered and blood spluttered from my mouth as the rocky ground embraced my skin-enveloped structure. I felt the dirt and rocks shifting slightly to cradle my near-lifeless body. Let go. Accept my fate. Accept failure. Accept … no, no. One last look. I decided to force my eyes open one last time to see my murderer.

As I opened my eyes, I knew the stranger was right. I wouldn’t believe him.

I lifted my gaze from my boots and saw the land before me differently. No longer a place to defend, but a land to leave behind. No longer a place filled with purpose, but a place of regret. I have lingered here too long. My loved ones have been without me for long enough.

I heard the creature land softly next to me, then move a few paces forward, back to where I first saw it. It paused and spoke.

“Have you accepted all that has passed, all that is, and all that is to come? Have you reawakened?”

“Yes, wise one. Let our journey begin,” I replied as I took one step forward. I vowed to never return to this place for as long as I live.

The Inspiration

Thanks again to Ravyne Hawke for another excellent prompt. I had no idea for this prompt so I wanted to let some AI art spark some creativity. It worked.

I chose Fiction Friday and I’m excited about next week’s prompts.

--

--

Kirk Carter
Promptly Written

Cybersecurity leader by day, vivid writer by night. Inspiring others through my personal stories, lessons of life, and creative writings.