The Slap

An Essay

Joanne Olivieri
Promptly Written
2 min readApr 9, 2022

--

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

Like everyone else in the world right now I’ve been exposed to the notorious “slap” by Will Smith on Chris Rock at the Academy Awards. I’m bombarded by it each day when I open my news app.

I’m not going to comment on it, the participants or the act itself. What I want to ask is, are there not more important issues in this world right now? The war in Ukraine is killing and devastating tens of thousand of people, we have gun violence, homelessness, rampant crime in our cities, a pandemic and people starving all over the world. Yet, Chris Rock and Will Smith are more important! Are you kidding me? Wake up people!!!

This is exactly why the world and more specifically, the USA is in chaos.

End of rant!

My photo writing challenge prompts at Promptly Written.

Joanne's Photo Writing Challenge

19 stories

Visit my publications Artique and Delicious Delights.

Artique and Delicious Delights

2 stories

My Sammers The Cockatiel Stories.

Sammers

16 stories

If you enjoy my work consider buying me a coffee.

https://ko-fi.com/jodapoet

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Joanne Olivieri
Promptly Written

Published author, poet and photographer. Love birds, animals, food, art, books, music. Contact jmcojo@gmail.com - https://medium.com/@jodapoet