The Tempting Noises

I want to join them too!

Orison
Promptly Written
4 min readMay 5, 2023

--

Photo by Jonas Weckschmied on Unsplash

The sun was disappearing from the horizon. The grasses were swaying in the evening breeze and the birds had started their return journey. I breathed out standing on the edge of the lawn enjoying the evening breeze kissing my face. Slowly I removed my shoes and sat on one side of the lawn. I was mesmerized by its greenery and it was well-kept. I concluded this is someone’s personal property. I was still examining the area when suddenly a football appeared out of the blue. I got up and picked it up, waiting for someone to come.

Within minutes a boy came running accompanied by three more towards me,
‘Sorry if it hurt you, but it’s my ball.’
‘No, it didn’t. Yes, you can take it but you have to take me where you were playing.’
The boys looked at each other, then after some silent talks one of them replied, ‘But why?’
‘Nothing much, just what to see you playing.’
They didn’t look convinced but still, he nodded and I accompanied them inside the huge stretch of green grass.

The sun has set, and the visibility decreased.
‘Hey, how can you walk so confidently in this dark atmosphere? Not afraid of animals?’
‘It’s our usual place, we know where exactly to put our next foot.’
I smiled, the reply was as if he was the owner of this place.
‘Tell me one more thing. Is this lawn someone’s property?’
‘Yes and no.’
‘What do you mean by that?’
‘This huge lawn is owned by one of the businessmen of this locality. He has a magnificent apartment at the end of it and that’s the only area he is concerned about. He doesn’t care about this part of the lawn, he just pays monthly for mowing of the lawn.’

It was after a few more steps that I finally saw a streetlight. There was suddenly a pavement road which lead to a football field. When I turned towards the right, I saw a white palace not less luxurious for a Prince to stay in. I can’t stop myself from praising the artwork.

I was caught in its excellence when the cheerful noises of the boys drew my attention.
I sat by one side seeing them playing and recalling my childhood days. I was also here, just a few years ago, free of responsibilities, worries, or money. Playing, eating, and roaming with my friends was all I knew. And today, I barely have time to finish my lunch peacefully. Really, childhood is the best phase of one’s life.

I stretched my arms backward and my legs forward. The sky was clear and the moon was gleaming. I swayed my head rightwards when something caught my attention.

Inside the magnificent bungalow, a young boy was peeping from the window. I erected myself to have a better look. He was watching the boys playing, with a constant glee in his eyes. There was a wanting look on his face.
I focussed more, realizing it was his study room’s window and he had a book opened in front of him. Suddenly a woman’s hand appeared in the frame and it seemed as if she was screaming at the boy. She dragged him away from the window. I was trying to sway my body right and left to have a better view, when I heard a shout.

A robust man dressed in a uniform came rushing out of the house towards the boys. They called me, ‘We have to leave, right now, come with us.’
I didn’t understand what was going on, but their tone sounded serious. So I quickly got up and ran behind them. The man (I think he is the bodyguard) chased us, shouting, ‘Your voices are disturbing our kids. Not focussed and will not let others focus too. Go away from here and don’t return.’

We stopped only after reaching the end of the lawn, where I met these kids. I immediately asked them, ‘What was that?’
‘The thing is it’s their personal ground. But you saw, it was the only place that has streetlights. So till daylight, we play here, but as the day sets we go to that ground.’
‘No, no, that’s not what I want to know. What was the bodyguard saying? Your voices are disturbing our kids?’
‘Ahh, yes, they have a boy whom they keep locked up inside. They say that our voices distract him from studying.’
‘From studying! How old is he?’
‘Not more than 12. He is my age only. Okay, we will go now. Nice meeting you,’ and they picked their cycles lying at one corner of the lawn and drove away.

I also started my journey back home but that child’s face kept on moving in my mind. I can’t forget that wanting look he had while looking at those kids. The woman’s hand that crept in and how she dragged him away. I don’t understand, is it really needed at the age of 12? Were those really annoying noises in the dark or a child’s desire to join in too?

I entered my apartment, clicked the lock, and opened the door, still lost in the thought.

Thanks for reading :)
The idea for the above story was sparked by Ravyne Hawke’s Fiction Friday prompt:

--

--

Orison
Promptly Written

I am a free writer and I love to write 'lessons I learned' through my experiences. I write stories to through light on various topics but in an interesting way