POETRY

The Wild West

The Desert is a feast for my eyes, a reprieve for my soul, and makes my heart delight

Libby Shively McAvoy
Promptly Written
Published in
4 min readNov 18, 2021

--

Author’s Personal Photo From Monument Valley

The Desert is a feast for my eyes

A reprieve for my soul

Ever-changing landscape

Reminds me of peaks and valleys of life

The fields of gold fill me with warmth

The purple mountain majesty makes

My eyes dance at dawn

The frosted peaks in the distance delight me

Orange sherbet sunsets in Scottsdale

Hearts delight

Yellow glow at dawn in Monument Valley

Makes me leap out of bed with excitement

Such a vast array of colors and textures

So much to see

Beauty surrounds me

Gratitude fills my heart and soul

Colors, textures, feelings

Nature is humbling

Life is humbling

The desert is not for the faint of heart

Life is not for the faint of heart

We must rise

--

--

Libby Shively McAvoy
Promptly Written

"HI" Writer, Personal Development and Relationship Coach specializing in Emotional Intelligence, Yoga Instructor, Mom, Speaker, traveler, & seeker