POEM

Things That Go Bump in the Night

Monthly Theme for October Prompt

Sujona Chatterjee
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Omar Ram on Unsplash

Moonlight on my face,
Wakes me up from my nightmare.
Where I jumped into a hole on purpose,
Knowing there is no way I could get out of it.

Sweat dripping from my forehead to neck,
The droplet felt like fingers running down my skin.
Why do I feel someone is out to get me?
Or is it my subconscious fear signaling me something.

I went to wash my face,
And looked at myself in the mirror.
For a moment I thought there was someone behind me,
But then I told myself shut it already.

Drinking water and feeling its cool spread through my body,
I returned to my bed.
Then I stared at the moon for a while,
And I felt a warmth within.

Moon, you trickster,
Or are you, my saviour?
Waking me up in the middle of the night?
Or saving me from my unreasonable frights.

The things that go bump in the night,
May not always be a reason for fight or flight.
Some wake us up to see our reality,
And remind us that we are not alone in this tough world.

Thank you Ravyne Hawke for this spooky prompt. It made me appreciate the moonlight even more. :)

--

--

Sujona Chatterjee
Promptly Written

Living life the only way I know how — one day at a time.