POETRY: MISCELLANEA

to the place of safety and back

Mescaline Brisset
Promptly Written
2 min readJun 11, 2022

--

a poem

Photo by Jeremy Vessey on Unsplash

the stench of the city
of where I’ve been
highs and lows
on the hills
of my experiences
I don’t want anything and anyone anymore
I want to float
in the unknown
unaccompanied
unacknowledged seas
where no one can differentiate between
animals and humans
they are the same thing
there
where I live
it doesn’t matter then
if I dwell
in the forest
far from them and much closer
to the trees
as foxes, owls, wolves, and other wild spirits
are my best friends
never judge, always appreciate
my company
I can learn their tactics and patience
whilst waiting for wild game
and it’s not a shame
in admitting it
I’m ashamed to be human sometimes
to be of the same ilk
as the accusers of my body
and the torturers of my soul
because it partly means
that the brains similar to mine
caused all of this
inability to face it
all over again
every single day
of my doomed existence

--

--