Trails

Episode 16 of the June Murders

Peter Ling
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Timo Wagner on Unsplash

DC Collins found Bale already in his office at 7.45 a.m. Does the man never sleep? he thought. Although they had agreed to meet at 8, Bale waved him to come in.

“Right, let me bring you up-to-date on my side,” Bale said. “I had a conversation yesterday evening with Detective Johnson in Los Angeles. He is going to show Zeus a photo of the brooch and check when and why he gave it to June Sommers. He said the most they have on Tad Zeus are speeding tickets, but he suggested we look at his backers. His company is always looking for what the theatricals call “angels” and some of them are devils in disguise. Money launderers to you and me.”

My, he’s feeling happy this morning, thought Collins, and I thought I was the one who had had a good night!

“Anyway,” Bale continued, “he said he’d see if there were any active leads of that kind that we might need to know about. As I said before,” and his face grew more serious, “this seems likely to be a job with international connections. And frankly, I doubt that we will be able to nail anyone in London for it. We’ll have to rely on others to chase them down. Sadly, that rarely happens.” His high spirits seemed to be fading. “That’s why it’s important that we work as hard we can on Zachary Taylor’s killing. What did you find out?”

--

--

Peter Ling
Promptly Written

Historian and biographer but thankfully with a sense of humour. Expert on MLK, JFK, the Civil Rights Movement, and presidential scandals.