JANUARY PROMPT / PROMPTLY WRITTEN

I Am Enough

Kickstarting My Future

Candy Kennedy
Promptly Written

--

Sunset at the beach with birds in flight.
Beach Sunset — Author Photo

My retreat to the sea begins soon; the dreaded packing is underway. It is my second year to join the annual snowbird trek to Florida, but this trip vastly differs from the former. This is the year of kickstarting my future.

When I rented a bungalow for a month’s vacation to Sarasota last winter, little did I realize the magnitude of change it would evoke. Having lost my forty-plus-year partner to cancer, my daily struggle was profound. Acceptance was in view, but living forward was undeniably problematic. I could barely endure hours, never mind days. That month, separated from everyday life, I practiced independence, courage, and healing from the inside out. I began to contemplate life as a single person.

The journey I am about to undertake will prove entirely dissimilar. I intend to transform, molt like a boa constrictor, peeling back layers to discover my truth and craft my future. Regrettably, life ahead is now totally up to me, but I am ready for the challenge.

I am enough is my chosen mantra for 2024. My future must be rewritten to ensure my completeness. With a grateful heart, I covet space, meaning, happiness, motivation, and self-love.

The beach will replenish my bucket with seashells and dreams. Sunrises and sunsets will renew my soul, providing stunning imagery as a creative backdrop to my writing. The heavenly taste of fresh seafood, produce, and fruit will kindle health and satisfaction. The sound of the waves will provide solace in the search for meaning and motivation in my life. Lengthy beach walks will promote self-love through silent meditation. The circle of wholeness and wellness will close around me like a warm hug to my heart, leading me on my path to enough.

My destiny should not be colorless, bland, or solitary. I must seek continued detours and adventures but purge aloneness. I am gradually learning to be enough company for myself. Should another person enter my life, I must trust my head and heart to recognize the opportunity to broaden my life while acknowledging I am enough.

The future is up to me, and I am ready.

“Do not let the memories of your past limit the potential of your future. There are no limits to what you can achieve on your journey through life, except in your mind.”
Roy T. Bennett, The Light in the Heart

Thanks to @ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE for the January Prompt at Promptly Written.

--

--

Candy Kennedy
Promptly Written

Editor, Deep. Sweet. Valuable. On a quest to discover happiness and fulfillment after loss.