Unsettled Spirit

The search for peace

Bobbie Isabel
Promptly Written
2 min readMay 11, 2022

--

Photo by Bianca Berg on Unsplash

The spirit seeks peace
In the arms of a lover
Or the pews of a church

The spirit seeks peace
In chemical oblivion
Or warm salt air

The spirit seeks peace
In a world full of chaos
Or a lifetime of emptiness

I, too, have sought peace
In lovers’ arms and
The sacred ritual,
In liquid forgetfulness and
The ocean’s breeze,
When my world was chaotic and
When the nothingness overwhelmed

My spirit finds peace
When blank pages meet
Beautiful words in ways
Loving arms,
Hymns of glory,
Shots of redemption,
Waves of emotion,
And the world
Never wrought.

Thank you for reading.

I am a multi-genre writer, but my heart sings in poetry. I am inspired by prompts and photos. My blog houses a collection of poetry inspired by photos I’ve taken:

--

--

Bobbie Isabel
Promptly Written

Healing myself through poetry and writing my first novel in the process. If you'd like to support me, https://ko-fi.com/bisabelwrites