Using Your Mobile Phone To Write On Medium

Joanne Olivieri
Promptly Written
Published in
3 min readApr 20, 2022

A How To Article Tutorial

Photo by Author Joanne Olivieri

As you all know by now, Medium has taken away the ability for those who use their cell phones to write using the mobile app.

Why? I have absolutely no logical explanation as to why they did this but I can say that it is very easy to use the desktop site link in your browser to format and write your stories.

For most writers, I’m generalizing here, they have a laptop, Chromebook and/or desktop computer along with a mobile phone. When you are out and about and have an idea come to mind it was very easy to open the Medium app and write your stories and hit publish. Well, no more. The only thing you can do with the Medium app now is read. The clap and comment features in the app are very glitchy right now which tells me they may be going away as well. Just an assumption on my part. Anyway, what do you do? Dont fret. I have answers and its very simple.

Use the desktop site link in your Chrome browser. Go to your Chrome app, click the three dots at the top which will bring up the menu as shown below, click desktop site box and you will be able to write your story as if you were using a laptop or desktop site. The only difference is that you are viewing it on a mobile phone so the screen is much smaller. Other than that, its very easy to do.

Phito by author Joanne Olivieri
Phito by author Joanne Olivieri
Phito by author Joanne Olivieri

So, step by step. Go to Chrome browser. Click three dots at the top. Click desktop site box then go to medium.com Click write story box to bring up next screen. Hit three dots next to green publish screen to edit your story, send to publications etc… NOTE; you can no longer edit your stories in the app so make sure you have everything edited before you hit publish. Again, seeing the desktop screen on a phone is very difficult so what I do is write out the bulk of my story on my email app then copy and paste it into the Medium editor. I use email because I dont like having alot of apps on my phone. You can use word, google docs or any other editor to write your story then copy and paste to Medium. If you have great eyesight, just write directly on Medium.

I hope this helps you to continue your writing journey on Medium. If you have any questions or need more help, please comment here. If you have already mastered this, please comment with any suggestions you have or anything I missed in this tutorial.

Thank you.

Joanne Olivieri Short Bio and Links.

If you enjoy my work consider buying me a coffee.

https://ko-fi.com/jodapoet

--

--

Joanne Olivieri
Promptly Written

Published author, poet and photographer. Love birds, animals, food, art, books, music. Contact jmcojo@gmail.com - https://medium.com/@jodapoet