Violet is the Color…

A Violet Poem Challenge Poem

Rhonda Marrone
Promptly Written

--

My Mother’s Violets Blooming Right Now. Photo by Author

Violet is the color
Of the flowers upon my shelf.
It is the color of the African violet
That my mother really loved
And tended for many, many years.
Violet is the color of the flowers
That I have in my bedroom window,
That my mother never meant to leave me
After she passed away,
Because she never meant
To leave us on that day…

Violet is my grandmother’s lilacs,
The sweetest springtime smell,
Removed by the buyer of her house…

Violet are the bruises I no longer wear,
I have recovered from them all,
A battered woman, I am no more…

Violet is my favorite shade of eyeshadow
To put around my dark brown eyes.
Along with thick black eyeliner
All the darkness makes for mystery.

Violet are the dangling earrings
Hanging upon my ears.
They sparkle, catch the light.
Everyone’s attention is drawn to the flash,
Because I want you all to…

--

--

Rhonda Marrone
Promptly Written

Poetry and Essay Writer. Be Open Editor. Lover of all things nature. You can most likely find me sitting under a tree ,watching birds, writing poems.