War

A poem about the lingering effects of war on a soldier

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written
Apr 1, 2023

--

Photo of me in Afghanistan days after being injured.
Me in Afghanistan days after being injured

See them?
Lying there still.
Red covers everything!
Priest walks through the hall with head bowed.
Still there.

Smell that?
Sweat, tears, blood, pain!
Will I again see mom?
Meals forgotten, memory stays.
All same.

Hear it?
Faint whistle blow.
Lucky because you did!
Death comes silently, from the hills.
Can’t hear.

Feel what?
Broken inside.
Friends lost, body was hurt.
Now heal the soul, and mend the mind.
Nothing.

A poetry prompt from Writers Write and real-life events inspired this poem. Ravyne Hawke and Petunia Petals edited it. If you liked it or want to see my other poetry, please follow me, or subscribe to my page to know when I upload something new.

--

--

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written

Entrepreneur • Poet • Fiction Writer • Crafter • Amateur Photographer • Artist • Gardener • Veteran • Cook • Neurodivergent