What Does It Mean To Give Of Yourself

The Weekly Special — Dec 6th-Dec 12th

Sam Finlayson
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

You give but little when you give of your possessions.
It is when you give of yourself that you truly give.
Kahlil Gibran, The Prophet

Give of yourself. What does that mean to me? Well, it means being vulnerable, letting people in. Opening myself up to trusting people with my heart and soul. Going against the screaming in my head.

Vulnerability, what does that word mean to you? For me, it was always someone who couldn’t manage for themselves. Needing extra support, someone who needed to be looked after. I did not want to be that person. Never relying on anyone else meant that no one could hurt me.

What I have learned recently, is that we all need people. The value of those relationships is found in what you are willing to give of yourself. I have always been guarded, fearful of what letting people in would result in. Past experiences told me that giving something of yourself was a set-up, the quickest way to be hurt or manipulated.

Recently I have found quality, not quantity, is key. Finding people in who you can put your trust, open up. Once you find those people, your life will never be the same. You will find courage and space to be who you are without…

--

--

Sam Finlayson
Promptly Written

Love 📚 New to writing but loving every minute. Write about my experiences with therapy, trauma and recovery as well as other things that cross my mind 😉