What is worth fighting for? — An Honest Answer

I do not know for now. Maybe tomorrow I will.

Hilbeth Jean Melencion
Promptly Written
2 min readMar 25, 2023

--

Photo by svklimkin on Unsplash

I am a warrior waking up to a battle every day.
Battles caused by others or merely self-inflicted.
I am a captive of my own tyranny.

Silly? I know.
I am a paradox.

I come to battle every day, or the battle comes to me.
Either way, I never win.

I am both the victim and the criminal.
Why am I even fighting these battles?
What am I even fighting for?

If you’re someone who wakes up to more than a two decade of unending war,
The reason of the war won’t be significant.
You won’t even know how the war started in the first place.
All you know is that you need to keep fighting.

But for what?
That I don’t know.

The battle for today has ended.
I survived.

Tomorrow is another battle.
I hope then, I’ll know what I am fighting and what is worth fighting for.

No. Scratch that.
Tomorrow. I hope.
For once.
I won’t have to fight.
I won’t have to survive.

And if I get luckier,
I hope, I won’t have to ask what’s worth fighting for.
Ever!

Because then, and for the next days, and months, and years, I’ll know.
Yes. I’ll know.

Prompt Response to Spiritual Sunday What is worth fighting for?

Ravyne Hawke thank you for the prompt. It tempted my muse. My dark muse haha.

Call for Support

Please join my increasing number of beloved followers if you find this piece interesting.

You can really be of great help for me to be able to join the Medium Partner Program.

Please consider leaving a tip.

Your follow and your generous tips will really help this author continue her passion in writing as well as help her fund her expenses during her review for Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering Board Exam.

Thank you!

--

--

Hilbeth Jean Melencion
Promptly Written

I am just a curious little curio. A graduate of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering.